Hello!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please read the house rules and keep this community safe for yourself and others.

Preparations? Questions?

Hi,

I'm finally back. I've been doing the Brentuximab thing for several months and a couple of weeks ago heard the wonderful words 'complete remission.'

So the move to allo is now progressing a pace. I met with my new transplant team on Monday, and my Professor told me there is a CMV compatible 9/10 match. I understand this in terms of CMV & alleles but not in terms of success or any consequences of a 9/10. But the good news is that there is a match.

Provisional date to start conditioning chemo is week commencing 19 Sept. When I heard the date it felt like next week and not a month away. Shock & fear because it became real. The potential donor still has to be contacted, do all their pre-checks, actually agree and then donate. Fingers crossed it goes smooth.

So questions:

Does anyone have any practical tips or pointers on how to prepare for & get through allo? I don't have family so need to order things as much as I can to manage my way through.

The Professor seemed relaxed about the 9/10 so I'm assuming that it's a good match. Is there anything I need to know?

Are there any key questions I need to be asking my team? I've done all of the normal website reading (Anthony Nolan, Lymphoma Association, etc) but I'm new to this and don't necessarily know what I need to know. Or know what I need to ask.

Thank you for your help.
Dee

Best Answers

• Hi Dee