Hello!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please read the house rules and keep this community safe for yourself and others.

Here's Another Story

Hi, I am Renate and in 2009, aged 48, totally out of the blue I discovered a swollen lymph gland in my neck which soon was diagnosed as Burkitt’s lymphoma. The Doctors were puzzled as I am neither male, not HIV positive, nor a young African child who usually get this type of blood cancer. I had 3 months intensive chemotherapy as an in-patient which made me feel very ill, but I survived and got better. 5 months later I went back to work; I am a Yoga teacher and tutor co-ordinator in a busy central London adult education college. Soon after, aches and pains in various joints started up and nothing helped (I later found out this was due to those huge immature white blood cells getting stuck in the joints), neither allopathy nor alternative treatments; I was told by my GP, that it was due to the chemo and I had to live with it and would I consider choosing a different job, may be?