Hello!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Please read the house rules and keep this community safe for yourself and others.

Newbie here.

Hi.

I'm new to posting on these forums, although I have been reading them for some time.

In January 2014 I was diagnosed with ALL. It was completely out of the blue, I felt very well, I wasn't poorly at all. I first went to the doctors because I was losing weight, my gp sent me for a blood routine test and within a week I had my diagnosis. Being a seemingly healthy 30 something with a young family it was a devastating blow.

I was originally told I wouldn't need a transplant but after 2 months in hospital on various chemo treatments it became apparent I wasn't responding how the doctors expected. In early June, after my third month long stay in hospital, my consultant told me that my leaukeamia had actually not improved at all. It seemed a total waste of my seemingly precious little time left, being stuck in four walls, being given all sorts of treatment that made no difference at all to my condition.

My consultant told me there was one chance left before they would just try to prolong my life as opposed to cure me. He made it sound like there was one lot of chemo treatment left on a dusty shelf somewhere in the pharmacy and they'd try that just for the **** of it.

Happily though, this treatment did work, by the early part of July my biopsy results showed there was no leaukeamia left. A donor was found for me and eventually, mid September, I had my transplant for a unrelated donor found through Anthony Nolan.